Leaders On The Horizon
Applied Radiology Announces the
2023 Leaders On The Horizon Residents’ Program!
Video Thumbnail
Hear from the 2022 winners and learn from their success.
Residents Register Your Paper Now!
Register Your Paper Topic Here:
Jordan Chamberlin, MD

Jordan Chamberlin, MD
Medical University of
South Carolina

Alexander Satei, MD

Alexander Satei, MD
Trinity Health Oakland-Wayne
State University

Melina Hosseiny, MD

Melina Hosseiny, MD
University of California
San Diego

Moozhan Nikpanah, MD

Moozhan Nikpanah, MD
The University of Alabama
at Birmingham

Akarshan Monga, MD

Akarshan Monga, MD
Detroit Medical Center

Program Description

This exclusive program is designed to identify, cultivate, and highlight future thought-leaders in medical imaging and is supported through an unrestricted educational grant from Bracco Diagnostics, Inc.

All US-based and international radiology residents are invited to participate in the 2023 Leaders on the Horizon Residents’ Program by submitting a clinical research paper or clinical review article which will be considered for publication in a special supplement to Applied Radiology.

All topics should be focused on imaging modalities and/or areas related to medical imaging.

A designated review committee of key opinion leaders in the field of imaging will select the top three (3) clinical research papers and the top three (3) clinical review articles; with the lead authors being recognized as the 2023 winners.

In addition to being published in the supplement, residents authoring the top three (3) clinical research papers and the top three (3) clinical review articles will receive:

  • A trip to RSNA 2023 where they will be honored at a special reception.
  • A scholarship award to support their educational endeavors in medical imaging.
Video Thumbnail

Applied Radiology & Bracco Diagnostics Present
The Leaders On The Horizon Program

Scholarship Awards

Clinical Research Paper
Clinical Review Article
 1st Place   $7500
2nd Place   $5000
3rd Place   $3000
 1st Place   $3000
2nd Place   $2000
3rd Place   $1000

Paper Submission | Details & Instructions

Video Thumbnail

Important Paper / Article Details
Presented by
Jenna Cameron, Program Coordinator

Next Steps

Complete the online registration to submit topics and paper/article descriptions  Register Now

Review Committee Members

Frank Shellock, PhD, FACR, FACC, FISMRM Frank Shellock, PhD, FACR, FACC, FISMRM

Director of MRI Safety
USC Stevens Neuroimaging and Informatics Institute

Adjunct Clinical Professor of Radiology and Medicine
Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California
Los Angeles, California

Mark Delano, MD Mark C. DeLano, MD, FACR

Professor and Chair
Department of Radiology
Michigan State University

Louis Mazzarelli, MD Louis Mazzarelli, MD

Clinical Director, Ultrasound
Yale New Haven Health

John P. McGahan, M.D. John P. McGahan, M.D.

Vice Chair of Academic Affairs
Co-Director of Ultrasound
Distinguished Professor
UC Davis Health

Alessandro Furlan, MD Alessandro Furlan, MD

Associate Professor
Department of Radiology
Abdominal Imaging Division
Presbyterian University Hospital

Lorna Browne, MD Lorna Browne, MD

Professor, Radiology & Pediatric Radiology
Children's Hospital Colorado

Chris Comstock, MDChris Comstock, MD

Breast Imaging Section
Department of Radiology
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Paul Finn, MD Paul Finn, MD

Professor of Radiology Medicine & Biomedical Physics
UCLA Health

Mahmud Mossa-Basha, MD Mahmud Mossa-Basha, MD

Professor of Radiology
Vice Chair Quality & Safety
Director of MRI, UNC Health Care

Christine Glastonbury, MD Christine Glastonbury, MBBS

Professor of Radiology
School of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco

Medhat M Osman, MD, ScM, PhD Medhat M Osman, MD, ScM, PhD

Professor of Radiology
Director of Nuclear Medicine and PET/CT
Saint Louis University

Neil Rofsky, MD Neil Rofsky, MD

Professor and Chair
Department of Radiology
UT Southwestern Medical Center