ACR Recognizes 2023 Gold Medal Recipients, Other Honorees

The American College of Radiology (ACR) Board of Chancellors (BOC) recognized three Gold Medalists, one Honorary Fellowship recipient and a Distinguished Achievement Awardee in recognition of their extraordinary contributions to the field of radiology and outstanding service during the ACR 2023 Annual Meeting.

Recipients of the College’s highest honor, the ACR Gold Medal, are chosen for their distinguished and extraordinary service to the ACR or to the field of radiology. Any member or fellow of the ACR may nominate a gold medalist. Nominees' professional contributions may be in teaching, basic research, clinical investigation or radiologic statesmanship, and must include outstanding achievements in service to the ACR, other medical societies, government agencies and quasi-medical organizations.

The following individuals received the ACR Gold Medal:

  • Edward I. Bluth, MD, FACR, is chair emeritus of the Department of Radiology at Ochsner Health System in New Orleans. He previously served on the ACR Board of Chancellors, where he chaired the Commission on Human Resources and the Governance Committee. He also served as an ACR delegate to the American Medical Association House of Delegates.
  • James A. Brink, MD, FACR, is the Juan M. Taveras professor of radiology at the Harvard Medical School in Boston. He is a past chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors, on which he also served as the chair of the Commission for Body Imaging, as well as serving as ACR president.
  • Carolyn Cidis Meltzer, MD, FACR, is dean of the Keck School of Medicine and professor of radiology at the University of Southern California. She is a member and past chair of the ACR Commission on Research, as well as past member of the ACR Board of Chancellors and past chair of the ACR Commission on Neuroradiology.

Richard Pötter, MD, of Vienna, Austria, received an ACR Honorary Fellowship. He is a professor (emeritus) and chairman (retired) in the Department of Radiation Oncology, having served at the Medical University Vienna General Hospital Comprehensive Cancer Center. He was clinical editor in Radiotherapy and Oncology from 2005-2014 and is past-president of GEC-ESTRO.

The ACR Distinguished Achievement Awardee is Robert J. Achermann, JD, who has served as the executive director of the California Radiological Society for much of his nearly 40-year career. He has worked side-by-side with the state society leadership successfully championing di icult policy issues in diverse areas of healthcare, including occupational licensing and medical malpractice reform and has advised multiple ACR Board chairs throughout his career.

© Anderson Publishing, Ltd. 2024 All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or part without express written permission Is strictly prohibited.